Vaginal Atrophy – what a terrible term

Vaginal Atrophy – what a terrible term

The Dr has confirmed I’m at this next stage of womanhood. The menopause. The world of hot flushes, aching joints, ageing skin and shock horror, the horribly named vaginal atrophy is upon me.

Atrophy – the Google definition.
verb
1.
(of body tissue or an organ) waste away, especially as a result of the degeneration of cells, or become vestigial during evolution.
“the calf muscles will atrophy”
synonyms: waste away, waste, become emaciated, wither, shrivel, shrivel up, shrink, become shrunken, dry up, decay, wilt.

2.
gradually decline in effectiveness or vigour due to underuse or neglect.
“the imagination can atrophy from lack of use”
synonyms: peter out, taper off, tail off, dwindle, deteriorate, decline, wane, fade, fade away, fade out, give in, give up, give way, crumble, disintegrate, collapse, slump, go downhill, draw to a close, subside.

I am offered HRT but have a number of hoops to jump through to get this elusive drug that will prop up my vagina for a few more years (I joke half heartedly with my lover that if it drops out could he pick it up for me). A family history of heart problems and thrombosis is likely to put HRT out of reach. I’m not ready to give up on having a lover, not ready to wither, crumble and disintegrate. Not smart enough to have a purely academic relationship, I want to be physical and am wary my relatively new partner would soon look elsewhere should my vagina become vestigial!

No wonder our poor sex was accused of witch craft as we searched for some elusive ‘eye of newt’ cure. As I struggle to keep my new ‘soulmate’ when ripe young things are there to tempt him and I realise that my grumpiness knows no bounds. 

I fear I’ll be that dried up old hag in just a few more full moons.

Leave a Reply

